The Church of Panagia Paraportiani is a unique architectural monument.
It is located in Mykonos, at the entrance of castro neighbourhood, right by the sea.
Its name -Paraportiani- actually means standing next to the entrance door,
meaning that the church was next to the old castle’s door.
This impressive, whitewashed church actually consists of five churches.
The four churches, dedicated to Saint Eustathios, Saint Sozon, Saints Anargyroi and Saint Anastasia,
are all on the ground and constitute the base of the fifth church that has been built on top of them.
The five churches were not constructed at once, but gradually along centuries.
The oldest church is Agios Anargyros started in 1425 and was not completed until the 17th century.
The other churches were built in the 16th and the 17th century,
while there were renovations till 1920.
The church of Panagia (Virgin Mary) Paraportiani is among the most photographed churches
not only in Mykonos, but in the whole world, famous for its unusual shape and architecture.
For us it has been an inspiring photographic project that caught our attention.